Just another morning rant

Ok… Is it just the generation that just finished high school/college… (assuming they are the generation Z)… that speak with “like” as a punctuation and/or an accent in every sentence or between every other word? (I’m not putting everyone in the same basket but I am referring to quite the majority – or at least what I’ve been observing (or forced to observe) lately.

And the fact that they like to speak loud enough so people can hear their conversations? Because really, I don’t want to hear your conversations. Yes I know, I could simply plug in and mind my own business. I suppose these irritations are part of my need to people watch… even on a morning commute. Some are just more irritating than others.

Also, I wonder if knowledge of pop culture is a “must-know” in the North American society. Almost as if ignorance of it is a sin.

I enjoy music and movies but I don’t indulge. I don’t immerse myself into knowing every new and old artist making new or remaking old music. I don’t specifically make note of every actor and movie they starred in. It’s not my hobby. I don’t watch movies simply based on who’s in it. I watch it if I want to watch it. I listen to music when I want. There is no music or tv show or movie that I have to know or watch. I appreciate that there are classics, famous movies – many with raving biographies and history books written for them – but I’ll watch them when I feel like it, if I want to.

Maybe I grew up in a way where I had other things occupying my life – like running around in the park, or playing tag with neighborhood kids. Maybe I wasn’t brought up in an entirely face-to-screen era. Or maybe I’m simply just not as interested!

Just my morning rant on a Thursday that already feels meh…

Leave a comment